Skip to main content

Top 4 MVP Snubs (2000 - Present)


As you know, winning MVP isn’t just about putting shocking numbers, is about leading your team to the first two seeds in both conferences, at least. Since 1985, there have been only 7 MVP who haven’t been at the first seed. Therefore, to win the Most Valuable Player Award you MUST need a good team, with great teammates and a good coach.

The only player to win this award without good players as a teammate was the new member of the Hall of Fame, Allen Iverson. Do the research, Mutombo only played 26 games and the second best scorer was Theo Ratliff, yes I know what your thinking THEO RATLIFF, who just averaged 12 PPG and 8 RPG. So don’t blame Iverson for averaging just 4 assists.

4. Tim Duncan over Jason Kidd 2001-02

Tim Duncan Jason Kidd

Jason Kidd almost averaged a triple-double with 15 PPG 10 APG and 7 RPG, finished first in the East and made it to the NBA Finals. Like Iverson, Kidd was practically alone in his team, and somehow he managed to go to the Finals. In the other hand, Duncan averaged great numbers 25 PPG 12 RPG and 3 APG, but these numbers were almost the same numbers from last season and won the same games from the last season.

Some people say that Kidd wasn’t MVP because he was arrested for spousal abuse. Should legal issues outside the basketball court affect the decision to reward a player for his performance on the court?

3. Derrick Rose over LeBron James 2010-11

Derrick Rose LeBron James
Scroll to Continue


LeBron James could have won 5 MVP in a row if it wasn't for this snub. The King scored more points, more rebounds, more steals and almost the same assists. LeBron had a better Field Goal percent and clearly a better all-around season—27 PPG 7 RPG and 7 APG—. Derrick Rose—25 PPG 4 RPG and 8 APG—has earned the love and respect from a lot of NBA Fans around the world for his unique and explosive game.

Chicago had the best record of the season with 62 wins and 20 losses and 4 games behind was the new dream team, the Heat with 58 wins and 24 losses. The Miami Heat was third in the league and second in the East, LeBron—like Jordan—should have won the MVP even when the Heat was in the third seed.

2. Steve Nash over Kobe Bryant 2005-06

Steve Nash Kobe Bryant

Why? Just why Nash? He managed to average 18 PPG and 10 APG and didn’t even get to the first seed in the West conference. This MVP was the second in a row for him, not even Kobe or Iverson had won two MVP. In my opinion, the league had to do an exception to the rule and give the Black Mamba, who was 7th in the West, the Most Valuable Player.

Kobe Bryant scored 81 points in a game and played in the playoffs with Kwame Brown, Luke Walton and Smush Parker on his team. He had a Jordan-kind of season averaging 35 PPG 5 RPG and 5 APG. The Black Mamba had one of the most historic seasons in the history of the NBA and the MVP should have been for him.

1. Steve Nash over Shaquille O'Neal (or over his teammate Amar'e Stoudemire) 2004-05

Steve Nash Shaquille O'Neal Amar'e Stoudemire

Yes, again Nash… The Phoenix Suns had the best record, with 62 wins and 20 losses, but just 3 games behind at the second place were the Miami Heat with 59 wins and 23 losses. Steve Nash was in his first season back as Suns and Shaq were in his first season as a Heat. Shaq won the East and Nash the West. Diesel averaged 23 PPG 10 RPG 2 BPG and led the league in Field Goal percent for a 60%.

In the other hand, Nash averaged 15 PPG and 11 APG and won the Most Valuable Player of the year, with those stats… Even Stoudemire should have been considered, he managed to average 26 PPG and 9 RPG with a 56 % from the Field Goal. This has to be the worst MVP in the history of NBA.

CHECK: NBA 2016-17: Regular Season MVP Candidates!

CHECK: Who can win NBA MVP in the next 5 years?